Insanity Max Recovery Review

Insanity Max Recovery: Yoga + Shaun T = Insanity

If you have any questions about this review of Insanity Max Recovery, contact me at buildahardbody@gmail.com.

Insanity Max Recovery First Impressions

This is the “recovery” workout for Month 2 of Insanity. You will do this workout once each week for at least four weeks. It’s 47 minutes of low impact cardio. Since my experience with Insanity Cardio Recovery, I have learned to approach Insanity recovery workouts with caution. Low impact does not mean no pain or discomfort. Shaun T just finds different ways of bringing the burn without making you jump around. While your joints get a break for one day, your muscles and ligaments will get worked.

Insanity Max Recovery starts off with Shaun T sitting on the bleachers in the Insanity gym chatting it up with some of the fitness demonstrators. This is supposed to put me in a relaxed state of mind, but it does the opposite. Shaun T is smiling too much. When this happens, my Spidey sense starts tingling because I know something crazy is about to happen. Also, I wasn’t part of their conversation, so I have no idea what they were discussing. Maybe they were plotting new ways of torturing everyone? Read on and make up your own mind about whether my hunch was correct.

Shaun T breaks up the choreographed-to-look-impromptu meeting and begins the workout. He’s wearing tights that go all the way down to his ankles. They accentuate how freakishly massive his legs are. Shaun T’s thighs are shaped like turkey drumsticks.

The Insanity Max Recovery Warmups

Because this is a recovery workout (cue maniacal music), there are no crazy warmups. Instead, you get a long, soothing dose of light stretching that includes several rounds of standing back bends, chin rollups, lunges in flat back position, and hip openers.

Insanity Max Recovery-back bends

The hip openers are similar to what you’ve already seen in other Insanity stretching segments. There are also a few modifications, such as the flat back stretches with hands clasped behind the legs.

Insanity Max Recovery-back bends hands behind legs

The Insanity Max Recovery Exercises

Insanity Max Recovery is broken into several workout segments which flow into one another without any breaks. I repeat, there are not breaks in this workout. The good news is that you shouldn’t need any (too badly).

The first exercise segment for Insanity Max Recovery begins in plank position. This is a series where you’re rounding out your back and raising your knees to your chest for 4-8-16 counts (meaning, you do four reps, pause for a few breaths, and do eight reps, pause, and do sixteen reps). This exercise recruits your core, but it’s nothing too difficult.

Insanity Max Recovery-plank knee to chest

A series of pushups follows. Shaun T introduces the 4-8-16 counts pattern. What this means is that you’re doing four reps, followed by a micro-break, eight reps, another micro-break, etc. While the number of reps doesn’t seem too high, they are done slowly, which adds a lot of intensity to this low impact exercise. Time under tension can fatigue your muscles as much as rep counts. You won’t be in agony, but you won’t be skating through them either. The tempo of the entire workout follows this example—slow and controlled movements.

Insanity Max Recovery-pushups

My favorite stretch for calves, downward dog, is next. Then, there are straight leg stretches for the hamstrings. Nice.

Insanity Max Recovery-downward dog

You’ll then transition to a series of lunges and butt lifts. Start off in the lunge position, then raise yourself up so that your momentum propels you forward. As you reach the top of the position, straighten the back leg and lift them off the ground with your butt muscles. This almost looks like you’re dancing, and is probably the most graceful move in the entire Insanity series.

Insanity Max Recovery-standing butt lifts with lunges

Hip openers are a staple stretch in Insanity, and this portion of Insanity Max Recovery adds a couple of new twists to the familiar hip openers to make them more intense. First level is where your elbow is pressed against the forward knee while the other hand is locked behind your back.

Insanity Max Recovery-hip openers level 1

The second level is where one arm is raised towards the ceiling while the other is placed firmly on the ground, and both arms are vertically aligned with each other. This is a stretch that should be familiar to yoga practitioners. And yes, they are as uncomfortable as they look. Your quads are supporting your body weight for a LONG time. This is nothing, though, compared to what’s ahead.

Insanity Max Recovery-hip opener level 2

The next series of exercises are done in plank position. The first involves balancing yourself in side plank position. Alternate balancing between the right and left arms. Do a pushup before changing arm positions. This series follows the 4-8-16 counts pattern.

Insanity Max Recovery-side balance

Go down to low plank position (resting on your forearms instead of your palms) for the next exercise. These will work your obliques. Alternate bringing the right knee to the right arm and the left knee to the left arm in 4-8-16 counts.

Insanity Max Recovery-low plank obliques

When Shaun T starts demonstrating the next series of exercises, I had a premonition of pain and suffering. He gets a wicked gleam in his eye, so you know something crazy is about to go down. My suspicions were correct, because the butt burners described below is probably the most painful series of exercises in the entire Insanity program. It almost single handedly caused the breakdown of the Insanity crew.

It starts easy enough. Assume a Plié position where your hips are wide open as far as possible (also known as the Sumo position). Your feet are pointed out, and your arms are outstretched to each side. Lower your butt towards the ground by bending your knees in a series of 4-8-16 pulses.

Insanity Max Recovery-plie pulses

Return to the Plié position and place a palm to the floor and extend the other arm towards the ceiling. On Shaun T’s cue, alternate arm positions. Even though your lower body is burning from the extended isometric hold, remain in Plié position for the next exercise.

Insanity Max Recovery-plie side lunge

Next, you will be doing exactly the same thing as before, but lift the heel of one foot off the floor. Pulse your butt towards the ground with 4-8-16 counts, then place your palm on the ground with one hand extended. Since you have two sides, you will be repeating this series for the other heel as well without coming out of the Plié position. Near the end, your gluts, calves, and quads are failing from being in the Plié position for over two minutes. You start anticipating the relief you’ll being feeling as you are released from this position, but wait, because you must remain in Plié position for the next exercise.

Insanity Max Recovery-plie with one foot off

Shaun T is not quite done with you yet because you now have to repeat the entire series with both heels lifted off the ground. I think he anticipated my feeling of dread. I literally thought to myself two seconds beforehand, “Please don’t ask me do this damned exercise with both heels lifted.” With your heels off the floor, you look like you’re doing squats on tip-toes.

Insanity Max Recovery-plie with both feet off

Let the pulsing begin. If you looked at your TV screen, you will notice that all the fitness demonstrators are near collapse, including Tonia the Machine. The strain of this exercise is evident in their faces. Their legs are shaking uncontrollably like a sewing machine needle. No one is having it easy. Everyone tries to put on brave faces, but their suffering is palpable. You have no time to worry about their suffering because you’re more concerned about yours, unless you already wimped out and straightened your legs. Everyone lets out a collective sigh of relief as Shaun T releases them from the Plié position.

Insanity Max Recovery-plie with both feet off

The worst is over and you return to the low plank position for the next series of exercises. You will be doing a move where you’re going from low plank to high plank. That is, from low plank push yourself up with one arm followed by the other arm until you are in high plank. Be consistent with the pushing arm because you will repeat the entire 4-8-16 counts with the other arm doing the pushing. This exercise works you triceps. They will be throbbing at the end of the last set, if you make it that far.

Insanity Max Recovery-low plank to high plank

You’ll be happy to know the last segment will be done in the standing position. The first is a series of oblique raises where you’re lifting your knee to your elbow. It follows the 4-8-16 counts pattern established by the rest of the workout. It’s such a relief to be able to move your body without being in an uncomfortable isometric position.

Insanity Max Recovery-standing oblique raises

Next up are hammers. Don’t let the name concern you because they are pretty easy. Raise your arms overhead. Bring them down and raise your right leg at the same time so that they meet at waist level. Do 4-8-16 counts, then repeat the entire series for the left leg. This completes the workout portion of Insanity Max Recovery.

Insanity Max Recovery-hammers

The rest of the time is devoted to cool down and final stretching, which are comprised mostly of hip openers.

Insanity Max Recovery-final stretching hip openers

Final Thoughts on Insanity Max Recovery

When I do yoga, I usually end up dripping with perspiration, even though there are no high impact moves. Same with Insanity Max Recovery. Unlike other Insanity workouts where you’re constantly jumping, rarely will both your feet be off the floor at the same time in Insanity Max Recovery, but the exercises are no less intense. Deep stretching and long isometric holds are uncomfortable as hell. You don’t have to lift heavy weights to experience muscle failure. If anyone scoffs at this idea, make this person do Insanity Max Recovery and see how long he/she lasts.

Insanity Max Recovery-final stretching

Since completing Insanity, I still do the other Insanity workouts on a regular basis, but I rarely put on Insanity Max Recovery. It’s probably avoidance on my part. This workout is serious, and will no doubt push your limits.

To read more reviews related to Insanity Max Recovery, click here. If you have additional questions about Insanity and Insanity Max Recovery, please email me at buildahardbody@gmail.com, or send me a private Facebook message. I love to talk to my readers about their Insanity experiences. Let’s get the conversation started.

Sign up for my free Fitness Success CourseDo you have any questions about this article or anything relating to health, fitness, and weight loss? Email me at connectwithJade@getresponse.com. I love to hear from my readers!

Did you enjoy reading this review of Insanity Max Recovery? If yes, click on the link above to purchase Insanity. Not only will you be supporting this blog, I will be assigned as your personal Insanity coach (without any additional cost to you). I can help maximize your results, keep you motivated, provide accountability, make suggestions, and offer encouragement. You won’t be doing Insanity Max Recovery alone!



About Khoa Nuyen

Aging and feeling crummy are for people who don't know any better. If a middle aged dude with a sedentary job can get these results, you can too.
Tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Insanity Max Recovery Review

  1. Pingback: Insanity Max Recovery Review « BuildAHardbody.com

  2. Pingback: Insanity liquid ecstasy retrieval Review « asalegodt

  3. Great post. I am a normal visitor of your website and appreciate you taking the time to maintain the nice site. I’ll be a regular visitor for a long time.

  4. Katie Morrison says:

    Nice screen shots. I’m from Canada so I never heard of Insanity until I was on vacation in the US and saw a commercial / infomercial for it. I tried looking on YouTube to see examples but you explain it better here. There was really nothing else (like no real reviews) anywhere else online.

  5. Kayden says:

    Yep, since the Insanity workout is SO intense, you do need to recover a bit. I’m glad they came out with the recovery program. Good take on it!

  6. Pingback: P90X vs. Insanity | Home Fitness For Busy People

  7. Pingback: Insanity Core Cardio & Balance Review | Home Fitness For Busy People

  8. Pingback: Where Can You Order Insanity? | Home Fitness For Busy People

  9. Pingback: Insanity Max Interval Circuit Review | Home Fitness For Busy People